Office of the Superintendent » Office of the Superintendent

Office of the Superintendent

Dr. Sabrina C. McGahee has been Superintendent of the Old Redford Academy School District since July 2019. As a 16-year education veteran, she’s employed transformation efforts to drive the turnaround of under-performing schools and ensure equitable outcomes for all students.

Prior to joining Old Redford Academy, Dr. McGahee served as the founding Head of School and Executive Director of Penfield Montessori Academy, Milwaukee’s first fully inclusive public charter Montessori school for students of all abilities. In this role, Dr. McGahee built a rigorous blended Montessori and special education lab school model for students of all abilities based on three pillars: education, family engagement, and health and wellness. This was accomplished by partnering with a local university and hospital to meet the needs of students through school-based health and wellness resources, as well as a behavior clinic. Under her leadership, she increased the performance of students with special needs compared to their typically developing peers, generated donations in excess of five million dollars, and secured financial support from over 30 community partners.

Dr. McGahee’s academic achievements include a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Michigan. She holds two Masters degrees, one in school administration from Columbia University and in adult education from Central Michigan University. She holds an Education Specialist and doctorate degree in educational leadership from Argosy University.

Dr. McGahee is a graduate of the National Urban Superintendents Academy and fellowship recipient of the Principal’s Academy at Columbia University, the Institute for Urban Superintendents at Harvard University, and Teach for America. In 2018, Dr. McGahee was awarded the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor Outstanding IGR Alumna award for her personal and professional commitment to promoting social justice. She serves on a number of boards and committees including the national Social and Emotional Learning Cohort.